Quick Links

Useful Links


GSO Test

Respect all — Always try hard — Make safe and healthy choices — Enjoy life

To advance the education, care and wellbeing of the pupils at the schools, to advance the education of other members of the community.

Visit site

Religious Education

Religious Education

Department Staff

Subject Leader – R Lewis

Teaching Assistant – L Burt


Key Stage 3:


At Southbrook, all pupils receive one lesson of Religious Education a week. However, in addition to this, there are numerous culture days that reflect and support the aims and objectives of the RE curriculum at Southbrook.

Throughout Key Stage 3, the students study the six main world religions, Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Sikhism and Buddhism, taught through key themes. The key themes, such as Faith in the Arts and Beliefs & Action in the World, ensure that the students are not focusing purely on religious knowledge and understanding. Through the themes, the students learn skills to help them relate to the questions and ideas posed through exploring differing beliefs, values and perspectives. In addition, through focussed themes, we can explore religious content and support students as they apply new understanding and meaning to their own lives, whether they are religious or not. Furthermore, we can explore the student’s understanding of ‘difference’ and positively challenge views that may be based on unreliable sources or understanding, which intern helps the student to become a more positive citizen who interacts in their community with respect and sensitivity towards others.


What will I learn?

  • Beliefs, Teachings and Sources
  • Practices and Ways of Life
  • Forms of Expression
  • Identity and Belonging
  • Questions of Meaning, Purpose and Truth
  • Values and Commitments

 Key Stage 4


In Key Stage 4, the students complete AQA unit awards. The Unit Award Scheme offers learners the opportunity to have their achievements formally recognised with a certificate issued by AQA each time a short unit is successfully completed.

The AQA unit award scheme offers a broad range of courses, which allows us to move away from teaching specific religions and rather use a variety of all 6 major world religions to achieve the awards. The awards currently taken are: Religion & Beliefs, Religious Art, Symbolism within Religion, Charitable Organisations, Growing up into Society and Purpose, Origin & Destiny. These units ensure the students are still gaining general knowledge of differing religions and world views, but in addition, they also force the students to reflect on their own lives as they prepare to move on beyond Southbrook.